blueskytore.blogg.se

Old time religion song sergeant york
Old time religion song sergeant york










  1. #OLD TIME RELIGION SONG SERGEANT YORK MOVIE#
  2. #OLD TIME RELIGION SONG SERGEANT YORK FULL#

They are the most accurate guns in the world, up to 100 or 150 yards. They make their own guns there in the mountains. They were muzzle-loading rifles, cap and ball. The rifles we used in the mountains were always kept clean.

#OLD TIME RELIGION SONG SERGEANT YORK FULL#

That first Army rifle they issued me was all full of grease. And we would have to go out before daylight and have sham battles. We would have to take long hikes with all our stuff on our back and carry that old gun. So I have seen many boys fall out of the hikes.

old time religion song sergeant york

So when I got this gun, I began to drill with the gun, and we had to hike once a week. So I had a hard time to get that old gun clean, and oh, those were trying hours for a boy like me, trying to live for God and do His blessed will.

old time religion song sergeant york

For the helluvit here's the entry from March 1918 about his issue rifle (presumably a M1903 Springfield) :Ĭamp Gordon: Well, they gave me a gun, and oh my, that old gun was just full of grease and I had to clean that old gun for inspection. I also found a site that has printed his diary. Wikipedia has a nice entry on Sergeant York for anyone who'd like to learn more about him. That substitute was the M1917 Enfield (which I have a sporterized version of & prefer it to any other type of bolt action rifle I've handled or shot). The M1903 Springfield was the issue rifle but the substitute rifle was more plentiful. There's some debate on which rifle he used during his combat duty. Though there are many more notable feats of marksmanship in combat (especially Simo Hayha) it cannot be said that old Alvin did not do a good piece of shootin' during the Meuse-Argonne Offensive. :) Considering their gallantry I won't begrudge either of them for how they handled the Hollywood experience. Before you go thinking that was mighty high fillutin' of old Alvin I should point out that it was a much humbler approach than Audie Murphy took ( who played himself, albeit uncomfortably). York had refused to release the rights to his story unless it was guaranteed that Cooper would play York.

#OLD TIME RELIGION SONG SERGEANT YORK MOVIE#

The movie was released in 1941 & starred Gary Cooper. I won't review the movie but I do want to discuss a few things (including discrepancies) about it. So to find it was an unexpected bit of fortune. The last few times I checked at several different stores the helpful sales representatives sadly informed me that Sergeant York was not available on DVD. I immediately snatched it & scanned my 3, 9 & 6 every few steps least someone try to wrest it from my grasp.

old time religion song sergeant york

What I saw was something I had searched for on & off over the last few years. I was in Best Buy rummaging around looking for a gift & happened to glance at this one section of shelf. Speaking (er, typing) of movies I stumbled on something last week.












Old time religion song sergeant york